In 1858, art critic, patron and philanthropist John Ruskin opened Cambridge School of Art, which grew to become Anglia Ruskin University.

Anglia Ruskin University (ARU) is an innovative global university with students from 185 countries studying there, and has been named as one of the top 350 institutions in the world in The Times Higher Education World University Rankings 2021 – and one of the top 40 universities in the UK.

ARU has 39,400 students worldwide with campuses in Cambridge, Chelmsford, Peterborough and London. It shares further campuses with the College of West Anglia in King’s Lynn, Wisbech and Cambridge and has partnerships with universities around the world including Berlin, Budapest, Trinidad, Singapore and Kuala Lumpur. There are four faculties of study at the university: Faculty of Business and Law, Faculty of Arts, Humanities & Social Sciences, Faculty of Health, Education, Medicine & Social Care and Faculty of Science & Engineering.

Their community is incredibly important, and they highlight their pride in the role they play in their cities and wider regions – including the positive effect on jobs and the local economy.