Growing Value: Scotland Task Force

Growing Value: Scotland Task Force


Read the full final report, The Second Report, About the Task ForceMeet the Task Force Co-ChairsThe Executive GroupThe Steering Group, Contact the GVS Team.

The Growing Value Scotland (GVS) Legacy Programme: Growing Potential: Scotland’s Innovation Step-Change is co-chaired by David Brown, (Partner, PwC) and Prof Sir Pete Downes (Principal and Vice-Chancellor, University of Dundee). The three working groups are exploring:

Disruptive innovation and the role of fundamental research.

How do universities, business and government partner to enable a step-change in business R&D and innovation? 

How do we ensure social sciences and humanities are sources of entrepreneurial, innovative graduates?

More information on Growing Potential is available here.

The Growing Value Scotland Task force summary report below highlights recommendations from the Task Force's research, which highlighted Scotland’s strong university sector and the need for universities and businesses to work closely together, to exploit the research base and translate this inventiveness into business innovation in Scotland.  





Capability, Culture and Change - Growing the Value of R&D in Scotland

A key finding of the GVS Task Force is that whilst university-based research spend in Scotland is above the UK average as a percentage of GDP, spending by business in this area lags considerably behind the majority of the UK. In fact only 3.1% of the total investment in research and development across the UK derived from businesses in Scotland (compared to over 9% of GVA and population). 

This report cites structural reasons for the disparity between Scotland and other areas of the UK, as well as differences within Scotland. It identifies areas to be focused on to enable Scotland’s research and development and innovation capability to be enhanced. 

pdf Growing Value Scotland Report (4.14 MB)

About the Task Force

The Growing Value Scotland Task Force is considering the challenges and opportunities for the future of Scottish innovation.

Co-chaired by Rob Woodward (Chief Executive, STV Group plc) and Professor Sir Ian Diamond (Principal & Vice Chancellor, University of Aberdeen), the Task Force convenes an Executive and a Steering Group, bringing together leading experts and leaders from across industry and academia to identify and prioritise actions specific to Scotland that will enhance the value of publicly-funded research and increase university-business collaboration.

The Growing Value Scotland Task Force builds on the foundations laid by NCUB's UK-wide Growing Value project, and the Enhancing Value Task Force.

The Task Force aims to publish its final findings and recommendations in May 2016. The following positions were held at the time of the task force:

Task Force Co-Chairs:

Rob Woodward
Chief Executive
STV Group plc

Professor Sir Ian Diamond
Principal and Vice Chancellor
University of Aberdeen


See the Co-Chairs' blog for the Growing Value Scotland Task Force.

Task Force Executive Group:

Stephen Blackman
Group Economist
The Royal Bank of Scotland

Dr David Docherty
Chief Executive

Professor Peter Downes
Principal and Vice Chancellor
University of Dundee

Professor Anton Muscatelli
Principal and Vice Chancellor
University of Glasgow

Task Force Steering Group:

Louise Alford
Director of Business HR, Customer Service Group

Alison Bryce

Maclay, Murray & Spens LLP

David Brown Partner PricewaterhouseCooper 

David Brown, 

Robert Calderwood
Chief Executive
NHS Greater Glasgow

Dr Alasdair Cameron
Executive Director
Association for University Research and Industry Links (AURIL)


Melfort Campbell
Imes Group

Dr Jame Coleman

Dr Jamie Coleman
Managing Director

Professor Jonathan Cooper
Vice-Principal Innovation & Knowledge Exchange
University of Glasgow.


Jeremy Cutler
Head of Technology
Geoscience Research Centre

Adrian Gillespie

Adrian Gillespie
Managing Director, Operations (Growth Companies, Innovation & Infrastructure)
Scottish Enterprise


Dr Iain Gray
Director of Aerospace
Cranfield University

Professor Paul Hagan
Director, Research & Innovation
Scottish Funding Council

Dr Siobhán Jordan

David Lott
Deputy Director (Policy)
Universities Scotland


Dr Bridget McConnell
Chief Executive of Culture and Sport
Glasgow City Council

Lee M

Lee McLaughlin
IC Mobile Lab

Andrew Milligan

Mr Andrew Milligan
Head of Global Strategy
Standard Life Investments

Gavin Nicol
Director of Opertaions Support and Development
Weir Group


Professor Andrea Nolan
Principal and Vice Chancellor
Edinburgh Napier University

Sir Timothy O'Shea
Principal and Vice Chancellor
University of Edinburgh.

Alan Rowe

Alan Rowe
Food and Drink Specialist
Aberdeen University

Professor Rick Rylance
Chief Executive, AHRC
Chair, RCUK Executive Group


David Scott
Senior Director,
Tepnel Pharma Services

Professor Nigel Seaton
Principal and Vice Chancellor
Abertay University

Tim Summers
Semiconductor Industry Consultant
Freescale EMEA

Dr Ken Sutherland

Dr Ken Sutherland BSc PhD CITP
TMVS President

Chris van der Kuyl
Chief Executive



Dr Rebekah Widdowfield
Head of Higher Education
Scottish Government

Charlotte Wright
Sector and Business Development Director
Highlands and Islands Enterprise









































































































See Elspeth and Sarah's blog on Scottish University Business Collaboration.




Expand for more