Bangor University (Welsh: Prifysgol Bangor) is a Welsh university based in the city of Bangor in the county of Gwynedd in North Wales.

It received its Royal charter in 1885 and was one of the founding Member institution of the former federal University of Wales.

It was officially known for most of its history as the University of Wales, Bangor (UWB) (Welsh: Prifysgol Cymru, Bangor). From September 2007 it became known as Bangor University, having become independent from the federal University of Wales. In the 2008 Research Assessment Exercise, almost 50 per cent of all research at Bangor University was assessed as world-leading. Bangor is ranked 251 of the world’s top universities. According to the Sunday Times University Guide 2012, it is rated top in Wales for teaching excellence and places in the top 15 UK universities in this category.